What’s this?

What’s this? What’s this? NaGa DeMon?

Oh my. Oh my. National Game Design Month. Interesting INDEED.

You know, I’m a dude who likes to take on projects more than I like to have projects, if that makes sense. It’s a nasty habit, and one I’m weaning myself off of. I’ve officially given up on NaNoWriMo, for instance, for a number of reasons (outlined here, on a Tumblr which I rarely update), though I am using November as a “focus month” for editing the novel discussed in said link. Plus I’ve got the Guild of Steamfitters on my plate. Plus I want to get some short story writing done before the year is out. Plus I should submit to the SW/Tex Pop Culture academic conference and don’t have a lot of time to create an abstract. PLUS I’d like to get Found Footage at least somewhat playtested and polished.

AND YET. And yet. Design, play, and talk about a game? Hell, that’s something I might well do by accident this month. It’s like being challenged to make and eat an omelet; there’s a good chance I was about to do it anyway, I just didn’t know that there was a challenge attached to it.

I honestly don’t know if I have a plan here, except in the sense that, yeah, there’s a half-formed idea burning in my head based on that last GMotW: a card-based space battle game mechanically centered around the allocation of energy and crewmen. And a modular ship design allowing for the trade and acquisition of new weapons. I have some keen, burning ideas about how that might work.

… I also have a lot on my plate. This is going to require some soul-searching and prioritizing.

Comments are disabled.